The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) is a global program in which government of Commonwealth countries give scholarships and fellowships to citizens of other Commonwealth countries. In other words, it is an international initiative through which Commonwealth states award scholarships and fellowships to residents from other Commonwealth nations.
The procedure of the scholarship is handled by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in Britain, a non-departmental public agency, and funded by the Department for International Development in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, which is the Plan’s largest contributor.

This fellowship is open to students from Commonwealth countries such as India, Malaysia, Bangladesh, Belgium, and others. Thus, this scholarship is available to Indian students who wish to study in one of three countries which are New Zealand, Singapore, or the United Kingdom.
Commonwealth Scholarships are awarded to students who are in financial need and have a high academic record. This could be a terrific opportunity for students who desire to pursue a higher education degree at one of the world’s most prominent universities.
International applicants’ eligibility for the Commonwealth Scholarship programme varies depending on student’s degree level and the topranked UK university they attend.
Eligibility criteria for:
The Ph.D. Programs
• a qualified candidate must possess a master’s degree or are in their final year of study,
• Not having previously applied to any other university for a Ph.D. or MPhil programme.
• Have a minimum score of 60% or higher in Social Science and a minimum score of 65 percent in Science.
• You must be a citizen of one of the Commonwealth countries.
• Be able to pay for a university education in the United Kingdom.
• Have been accepted into a university in one of the Commonwealth countries.
For Master’s Degree Programs
• Be a citizen of a Commonwealth country or a permanent resident of a Commonwealth country in development.
• Not be enrolled in a Master’s degree programme at another university.
• Those who have travelled overseas for training, education, or personal reasons are also eligible to apply.
• Having a bachelor’s degree as a minimal qualification
• A minimum of 60% in social science and 65% in science areas is required.
Application procedure
Courses are offered at two levels: masters and doctoral. The Master’s programme will last one year, while the PhD programme will last three to four years. Candidates who are employed and wish to return to the United Kingdom after completing their studies must obtain assurance from their employers that they will be granted sufficient leave to
complete their studies. Candidates who have been nominated will be notified by email and a public notice on the Ministry’s website.
Step 1
There are more than 90 universities in the United Kingdom for which students can apply for Commonwealth scholarships. The
Commonwealth Scholarships Commission (CSC) is currently partfunding Commonwealth Scholarships for candidates from low- and middle-income nations.
Step 2
Because the CSC does not accept direct applications for these scholarships, students must apply through one of the nominating bodies listed below:
• National nominating agency – Indian students must apply through India’s Ministry of Human Resource Development’s Department of Higher Education.
• Non-profit and charity organisations that have been chosen.
• Selected universities or university bodies that have the authority to appoint academic employees.
Step 3
To apply for the Commonwealth Scholarship – United Kingdom cutoff, students must go to the MHRD website before proceeding to the ECAS webpage to apply. It is mandatory for applicants to apply on both portals before the
deadlines. In general, applicants must apply for the MHRD cut-off in January and the ECAS cut-off in December.

– Mahira Khan